Historical

Bell Pensioners' Group (BPG) was formed in 1995 by a group of Bell pensioners who were concerned about their RRSP savings after the collapse of The Confederation Life Insurance Company in August 1994. Following the successful negotiation of an Enhancement Agreement with Bell Canada that guaranteed appropriate financial compensation upon liquidation of Confederation Life, BPG continues to advocate on behalf of pensioners' rights. 

BPG is becoming increasingly recognized as the most proactive pensioners' organization in Canada and is a founding member of the Canadian Federation of Pensioners, created in 2005, We have chapters located in Ottawa, Ontario Central and Southwestern Ontario, Montreal, Quebec City, and Télébec's territory, and are seeking to expand our membership.

 WHAT IS BPG?

The Bell Pensioners' Group (BPG) is an advocacy organization representing pensioners of Bell Canada and Bell Canada affiliated companies. The BPG mandate is to safeguard the rights, benefits and privileges earned by its members during their working years, and to educate and empower through information and knowledge.

This mandate also extends to intervention in legislative and policy issues with both Federal and Provincial governments. BPG frequently submits briefs to governments and other stakeholders in the pension area, including provincial commissions on pensions, and our president has appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance to present BPG's views in person.

In the world of 'The New Bell', privatization, competition, mergers, takeovers, cost cutting, emphasis on shareholder stake, partnerships, etc., there is more need than ever for a strong representation for pensioners. No one else is prepared, or able, to take up this challenge. To do this effectively, BPG needs strong pensioner membership. Unfortunately BPG does not have access to Bell's pensioner mailing list as these records are treated as confidential. As a result, the growth of our organization is through referrals and word of mouth. If you have contact with Bell pensioners, please send us their names and addresses; we would like to invite them to join.

WHAT DOES BPG DO?

Each chapter holds meetings throughout the year, usually in the spring and fall. Chapters also maintain their own websites, and issue newsletters on a regular basis. Reports on the current dialogue with Bell and other key stakeholders are an important part of our newsletters and meetings.

 Here are just a few examples of the issues and activities BPG has addressed:

·        In 1997, after meetings with senior management in the Bell Human Resources organization, agreement was reached to hold formal meetings on a regular basis with Bell. The BPG Board has now been meeting with Bell once or twice a year  to exchange information, to discuss issues and to keep each other informed on key issues.

·        In 1999, BPG made a strategic decision to endorse two of its members as pensioner candidates for the Pension Information Council (PIC).  Both candidates (one each for Ontario and Quebec) were elected with wide majorities. This clearly declared to Bell the interest of BPG and its members in their vested stake in the Bell Pension Fund. In subsequent elections, BPG endorsed candidates were again elected with wide majorities. BPG works closely with the PIC reps.

·        We constantly discuss with Bell ways to improve communications with its pensioners. As a result, we now have the "In Touch" pensioners newsletter and the Bell Pensioners website at www.bellprotection.hroffice.com

·        We resolved the issue, with Bell, and Revenue Canada, about the 'Taxable Benefit' associated with The Pensioners' Group Life Insurance, with no Taxable Benefit, and hence no taxes payable for 1998 and all subsequent years.

·        BPG in conjunction with Bell met with the Federal Departments of Finance and Human Resources Development to protest the unfairness of the proposed Federal Government's "Seniors Benefit". The proposal would have unilaterally withdrawn government benefits, with a 'year of birth' criterion, from Bell pensioners who had opted for a 'blended' pension, with a higher Bell component to age 65, dropping down with the advent of the previously promised government pension. Many other seniors' organizations also commented on and criticized the "Seniors Benefit" proposal, which was subsequently withdrawn.

·        In the summer of 2001, BPG wrote to the Premier of Ontario and the Minister of Health to protest comments by the Minister, suggesting that health benefits in the future may be related to income. Bell has stated that benefits, withdrawn by Government, will not be picked up by Bell in the future.

·        Over the past few years, BPG has established a working relationship with the key stakeholders in the federal government, i.e. Finance Canada, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) and Human Resources and Social Development (HRSDC).

·        In September 2006 , BPG submitted a brief to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance recommending improvements to the security of private pension plans through legislative reform. A few weeks later, the president of BPG was invited to appear before the Committee to express the BPG perspective in person.

Since then, BPG has presented its views on pension reform to a number of provincial Commissions such as the Ontario Expert Commission on Pensions (OECP), the Alberta / British Columbia Joint Expert Panel on Pension Standards and the Nova Scotia Pension Review Panel.

BPG has also been very active with organizations from the private sector, namely the C.D. Howe Institute  and the Conference Board in Canada

You can see from the examples above that we are active in lobbying to protect the rights and benefits that we earned during our careers.

We cannot do it alone. We must have the backing of all pensioners.

There is strength in numbers: We want and need your support!

 

 

 



Become a member
  • Cost of Living Adjustment for 2019

    November 23rd, 2018

    The Cost of Living Adjustment on Bell Canada's pensions should be 2% in 2019.

    Read more ...

  • BPG Board Meeting

    November 11th, 2018

    The BPG Board of directors held its bi-annual meeting in Ottawa

    Read more ...

  • 2018 Board Elections

    July 2nd, 2018

    Do you know your Board members?

    Read more ...

  • Update

    July 11th, 2018

    Class Action Regarding 2017 Pension Indexation

    Read more ...

  • 2017 Financial Statements

    April 23rd, 2018

    In readiness for our AGMs (annual general meeting) of the BPG members, please consult the 2017 Financial Statements on the website.

    Read more ...

  • Pension Glossary

    September 4th, 2017

    Is there a pension-related term that you aren’t sure about?  Why not consult our Glossary?

    Read more ...

  • To better understand your pension plan

    April 13th, 2018

    With pension plans so much in the news recently, we thought some of you might have additional questions, so we prepared a short Q&A document.

    Read more ...

  • The BPG Board of directors

    May 8th, 2018

    The BPG Board of directors held its bi-annual meeting in Montreal on April 26th & 27th 2018.

    Read more ...

  • CARP Proposes Federal Minister for Seniors

    June 1st, 2018

    Did you know that the Federal Government does not have a Minister dedicated to Seniors’ issues?

    Read more ...

  • Class action on Bell’s interpretation of the 2017 indexation

    January 18th, 2018

    A Bell pensioner has commenced a class action on behalf of all Bell defined benefit pensioners.

    Read more ...

  • COST OF LIVING ADJUSTMENT FOR 2018

    November 17th, 2017

    The Cost of Living Adjustment on Bell Canada's pensions should be 1% in 2018.

    Read more ...

  • Your Manulife contract numbers have changed

    January 20th, 2016

    January 20, 2016 - Effective January 1, 2016 your Manulife contract numbers have changed. You should have received a new card in the mail

    Read more ...

  • BPG members on the PIC

    August 14th, 2015

    August 12, 2015 - Peter Dilworth, Sue Dawes (substitute), Michel Doyon and Yvan Dutrisac (substitute) are the PIC representatives for 2016-2018.

    Read more ...

  • EVERYTHING YOU WANT TO KNOW ABOUT PENSION PLANS...

    August 13th, 2016

    Every month you receive a payment covering your Bell pension. Have you ever wondered what backs up these payments, and what steps have been taken to make sure the payments keep coming? This article covers some of the basics of the Bell Canada defined benefit pension plan.

    Read more ...

  • THINKING OF JOINING BPG?

    November 27th, 2010

    Read what others have to say.

    Read more ...

  • In Touch Newsletter

    March 18th, 2014

    The In Touch newsletter is published three times a year, in March, June and October. Do you have difficulty receiving it?

    Read more ...

  • Who is Eligible to Join BPG?

    September 20th, 2014

    October 3rd, 2013 - Since June, the Bell Pensioners’ Group includes pensioners from Télébec, Télébec Mobility and BCE as well as active employees from Bell/BCE companies.

    Read more ...

  • Help us limit our postage costs

    May 9th, 2014

    May 9, 2014 - With the price of stamps going up, imagine how much it will cost to send BPG newsletters to thousands of members every year. Subscribe to our electronic distribution list to obtain your newsletters by email.

    Read more ...

  • Follow us on Facebook

    May 9th, 2014

    May 9, 2014 - BPG now has its Facebook page to increase its visibility and, foremost, to make itself known to non-members.

    Read more ...

Archives



Follow us on LinkedIn   Follow us on Facebook
Top

Historique

Le GPB a été incorporé, en 1995, par un groupe de retraités de Bell qui voulaient récupérer leurs investissements dans le Régime de Rentes Supplémentaires Facultatif géré par La Confédération Vie, au moment de sa faillite. Après la conclusion d'une entente avec Bell Canada garantissant une compensation financière aux individus lésés (environ 15M$), le GPB a poursuivi ses activités tout en élargissant son mandat et son champ d'action.

Le GPB est de plus en plus reconnu comme le regroupement de retraités le plus dynamique du Canada et est un des membres fondateurs de la Fédération canadienne des retraités, créée en 2005. Nous avons des sections à Montréal, Québec, Ottawa, dans le Centre et le Sud-Ouest de l'Ontario ainsi que dans le territoire de Télébec.

Qu'est-ce que le GPB?

Le Groupe des Pensionnés de Bell (GPB) est un regroupement de personnes retraitées de Bell et de ses filiales qui veulent défendre les droits, bénéfices et privilèges qu'ils ont acquis pendant leurs années de travail. Son mandat est de diffuser de l'information à ses membres afin de mettre à jour leurs connaissances tout en s'adjoignant l'expertise requise pour l'élaboration de dossiers étoffés. Le GPB intervient aussi aux deux niveaux de gouvernement sur des sujets législatifs ou politiques.

Dans l'univers du "nouveau Bell", de la concurrence, des fusions, des acquisitions, des coupures de coûts, de la primauté de l'actionnaire, des partenariats, il est de plus en plus important pour les retraités d'être représentés de façon solide. Personne d'autre n'est préparé ou capable de faire face à ce défi. Afin de jouer son rôle de façon efficace, le GPB doit compter sur l'appui de ses membres. Nous n'avons malheureusement pas accès aux listes de retraités, qui sont considérées comme confidentielles. Nous devons donc utiliser le bouche à oreille pour rejoindre ceux qui ne nous connaissent pas encore. Nous comptons sur vous pour passer le mot aux autres retraités de Bell. 

Quelles sont les réalisations du GPB?

Toutes les sections tiennent au moins une assemblée générale à chaque année, normalement au printemps. Des bulletins sont publiés régulièrement par chaque section. Lors de nos réunions et dans nos bulletins, nous attachons une importance particulière aux résultats de notre dialogue avec Bell.

Voici quelques exemples récents de réalisations et de succès du GPB:

·    En 1997, après plusieurs rencontres avec la direction du groupe des Ressources humaines de Bell, nous en sommes venus à une entente visant à instituer des réunions régulières avec Bell. Le Conseil du GPB tient maintenant des rencontres avec Bell deux fois par année pour échanger de l'information, discuter de certains problèmes et se tenir mutuellement informés des principaux dossiers.

·    En 1999, le GPB a pris la décision stratégique d'appuyer deux de ses membres comme candidats retraités au Comité d'information sur le Régime de retraite (CIRR).  Les deux candidats (un pour le Québec et un pour l'Ontario) furent élus avec des majorités considérables. Ceci démontrait clairement à Bell la volonté du GPB et de ses membres de veiller à leurs intérêts dans le Régime de retraite de Bell. Lors de l'élection de 2001, les candidats appuyés par le GPB furent élus de nouveau avec des majorités élevées. De plus, les candidats arrivés en deuxième position (substituts pour chaque province) étaient aussi membres du GPB. Le GPB travaille en étroite collaboration avec les représentants au CIRR.

·     Nous sommes constamment en discussion avec Bell afin de trouver de nouvelles approches pour améliorer les communications avec les retraités. Ces efforts ont permis le lancement du bulletin "En contact" et du site web « Avantages sociaux à la retraite ».

·    Nous avons obtenu le retrait, par Revenu Canada et Revenu Québec, de l'imposition des primes d'assurance-vie de groupe comme bénéfice taxable, à compter de 1998.

·    Nous avons soumis au gouvernement fédéral, en collaboration avec Bell, un mémoire important sur les changements proposés au programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, entraînant ainsi le retrait des propositions gouvernementales.

·    Pendant l'été 2001, nous avons écrit au premier ministre de l'Ontario ainsi qu'au ministre de la Santé afin de protester contre les propos de ce dernier à l'effet que les programmes publics d'assurance-maladie, dans l'avenir, pourraient être liés au revenu. Bell a déjà statué que les avantages sociaux éliminés par le gouvernement ne seraient pas assumés par Bell, à l'avenir.

·    Au cours des dernières années, le GPB a établi d'excellentes relations avec les principaux intervenants dans le domaine des pensions au niveau fédéral, soit Finance Canada, le Bureau du Surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) ainsi que le ministère des ressources humaines et du développement social.

·    En septembre 2006, le GPB a soumis un mémoire au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur les finances pour proposer des améliorations à la législation régissant la sécurité des régimes de retraite privés. Quelques semaines plus tard, la présidente du GPB était invitée à présenter les vues du GPB en personne devant le comité.

·    Depuis, le GPB a présenté son point de vue sur la réforme des pensions à plusieurs commissions provinciales telles que la Commission ontarienne d'experts sur les pensions (COEP), la Commission conjointe d'experts de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique sur les normes de pensions ainsi que le Groupe d'étude sur les pensions de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le GPB s'est également impliqué auprès d'organismes du secteur privé, comme l'Institut C.D. Howe et le Conference Board du Canada.

Ces exemples démontrent que le GPB joue vraiment son rôle afin de protéger les droits et avantages que nous avons gagné pendant nos années de travail.

Nous ne pouvons agir seuls et devons avoir l'appui de tous les retraités.

L'union fait la force: nous avons besoin de votre soutien.

 



Devenez membre
  • Indexation annuelle des pensions pour 2019

    23 novembre 2018

    L'indexation des pensions de retraite de Bell Canada devrait être de 2 % en 2019.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Réunion du C.A. du GPB

    11 novembre 2018

    Le Conseil d’administration du GPB a tenu sa réunion bi-annuelle à Ottawa.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Election du CA

    2 juillet 2018

    Connaissez-vous les membres du Conseil d'administration?

    En savoir plus ...

  • Mise à jour

    11 juillet 2018

    Recours collectif relatif à l'indexation des pensions pour 2017 

    En savoir plus ...

  • États financiers de 2017

    23 avril 2018

    En préparation à nos AGAs ( assemblée générale annuelle) des membres du GPB , veuillez consulter sur le site les États financiers de 2017

    En savoir plus ...

  • Pour mieux comprendre votre régime de retraite

    13 avril 2018

    Les régimes de retraite font si souvent les manchettes ces derniers temps que nous avons pensé que certains d'entre vous pourraient se poser des questions.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Glossaire de la terminologie des régimes de retraite

    4 septembre 2017

    Y-a-t-il un terme relié aux pensions qui vous cause problème? Pourquoi ne pas consulter notre glossaire?

    En savoir plus ...

  • Recours collectif sur l'interprétation de Bell pour l’indexation de 2017

    18 janvier 2018

    Un retraité de Bell a intenté un recours collectif au nom de tous les retraités à prestations déterminéesde Bell.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Indexation annuelle des pensions pour 2018

    17 novembre 2017

    L'indexation des pensions de retraite de Bell Canada devrait être de 1 % en 2018.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Le Conseil d’administration du GPB

    8 mai 2018

    Le Conseil d’administration du GPB a tenu sa réunion bi-annuelle à Montréal les 26 & 27 avril dernier.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Situation inacceptable pour les Aînés

    1 juin 2018

    Saviez-vous que les ainés demeurent sans représentant au sein du gouvernement fédéral?

    En savoir plus ...

  • Vos numéros de contrat Manuvie ont changé

    20 janvier 2016

    20 janvier 2016 - Le 1er janvier 2016, vos numéros de contrat Manuvie ont changé. Vous devriez déjà avoir reçu de la Financière Manuvie une nouvelle carte.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Membres du GPB au CIRR

    14 août 2015

    12 août 2015 - Michel Doyon, Yvan Dutrisac (substitut), Peter Dilworth et Sue Dawes (substitut) sont les représentants du CIRR pour 2016-2018.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Bulletin En contact

    18 mars 2014

    Le bulletin En contact est publié trois fois par année, en mars, en juin et en octobre. Avez-vous de la difficulté à le recevoir?

    En savoir plus ...

  • Qui peut devenir membre du GPB?

    20 septembre 2014

    3 octobre 2013 - Depuis juin, le GPB accueille les retraités de Télébec, de Télébec Mobilité et de BCE ainsi que les employés actifs des entreprises Bell/BCE.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Suivez-nous sur Facebook

    9 mai 2014

    9 mai 2014 - Le GPB a maintenant sa page Facebook. C’est l’occasion d’augmenter sa visibilité et surtout de se faire connaître auprès des non-membres.

    En savoir plus ...

  • Aidez-nous à limiter nos frais de poste

    9 mai 2014

    9 mai 2014 - Avec l’augmentation du prix des timbres, imaginez combien coûteront les envois des bulletins du GPB à des milliers de membres chaque année. Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion électronique pour obtenir vos bulletins par courriel.

    En savoir plus ...

  • TOUT CE QUE VOUS VOULEZ SAVOIR SUR LES RÉGIMES DE RETRAITE

    13 août 2016

    Chaque mois, vous recevez votre rente de retraite de Bell. Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé d’où proviennent ces paiements et quelles mesures ont été prises pour que vous continuiez à les recevoir?

    En savoir plus ...

Archives



Suivez-nous sur LinkedIn   Suivez-nous sur Facebook
Top